Youth Religious Emblems


Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venturing

There are five Youth Religious Emblems available through the NCCS: two that can be earned by Cub Scouts, one of two that can be earned by Boy Scouts, and one that can be earned by Boy Scouts and Venturing crew members. They are:

  • The Light of Christ emblem can be earned by Tiger and Wolf Cub Scouts.
  • The Parvuli Dei emblem can be earned by Bear and Webelos Cub Scouts.
  • The Ad Altare Dei emblem can be earned by Roman Catholic Boy Scouts.
  • The Light is Life emblem can be earned by Eastern Catholic Boy Scouts.
  • The Pope Pius XII emblem can be earned by older Boy Scouts and Venturing crew members. Click on the emblem names to open a new window with NCCS requirements.

Cub Scout emblems are completed in a family setting with assistance of a trained Religious Emblems coordinator. These programs take approximately two months to complete. The Ad Altare Dei and Light is Life emblems are completed during scheduled meetings led by a trained Religious Emblems Counselor, with outside homework, and take approximately 5-7 months to complete. The Pope Pius XII emblem is completed at scheduled meetings led by the participants, and moderated by a trained Religious Emblems Moderator, with outside homework. It takes approximately 9-12 sessions (4-6 months) to complete.

Upon completion, each candidate will meet with their parish priest, or his designate, to review what the Scout/Venturing crew member has learned. After this review, the Scout/Venturing crew member will receive a BSA religious knot at an appropriate unit presentation (Pack Meeting, Court of Honor), and the religious emblem at a parish/diocesan ceremony.



Girl Scouts and Camp Fire

There are four Catholic Religious Emblems available to Girl Scouts and Camp Fire offered through the NFCYM/NCCGSCF.

  • The Family of God program is the official religious recognition program of the Roman Catholic Church in the U.S.A. for children ages 7-9, who are enrolled in the Girl Scouts of the U.S.A., Camp Fire USA, and The Junior Catholic Daughters of the Americas. The Family of God is an activity series developed to complement the catechetical efforts of the parish and families with children in the second and third grades.
  • The I Live My Faith program is designed to help Girl Scouts and Camp Fire members, ages 9-11, appreciate more deeply the place that God and religion occupy in their daily life.
  • Through Mary, the First Disciple (Marian Medal), young Catholics (ages 12-15) will grow in appreciation of Mary and in understanding themselves. They will meet Mary in Scripture as a young teenager and will follow her journey, as she becomes a woman and the Mother of God.
  • The Spirit Alive program is designed for Catholic youth in high school who are in the Senior level of Girl Scouts or are Horizon Club members of Camp Fire. It assists them in discovering how the Holy Spirit moves in their lives, calling them to greater participation in the church's ministry.

For more details about the religious emblems for girls, please follow this link to the National Catholic Committee for Girl Scouts USA and Camp Fire USA.



Religious Emblems Chair and Training contact:
Katrina Overbeck